Skip to content Skip to navigation

Advancing Nanoparticle Manufacturing

Written by: 
Marlowe Newman, NNCO
ANM Workshop

Following decades of research and development, commercial products enabled by nanoparticles are poised to have broad impact in diverse sectors of the global economy, ranging from electronics to healthcare to energy. However, applications of nanoparticles have been limited by challenges at all stages of the manufacturing process, from production and purification, to characterization and integration of nanoparticles into products. Advancing Nanoparticle Manufacturing will gather experts from industrial, governmental, and academic sectors to discuss these technical challenges, as well as application forecasts, market insights, and inter-sector collaborations. Through this discussion, this NIST Workshop aims to develop a better understanding of the challenges currently limiting the manufacturing of nanoscale particles, rods, and tubes in the liquid phase, and thus inform future innovations advancing beyond these limits. The CNST is holding Advancing Nanoparticle Manufacturing under the auspices of the NIST Nanomanufacturing Initiative.

Date: October 7-8, 2015
Location: NIST, Gaithersburg, Maryland, Building 215, Room C103 - 106


  • Samiul Amin
    Director New Technology Assessment, Malvern Instruments
  • Robert Celotta
    Director, Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Gregory Cooper
    Chief Technology Officer, Pixelligent Technologies
  • Jack Douglas
    Fellow, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Jeffrey Fagan
    Project Leader, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Oleg Gang
    Group Leader, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Frank Gayle
    Deputy Director, Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office
  • Wilfried Haensch
    Senior Manager, IBM TJ Watson Research Center
  • T. Yong-Jin Han
    Group Leader, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Jennifer Hollingsworth
    Scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Robert Ivkov
    Professor, Johns Hopkins University
  • Cherie Kagan
    Professor, University of Pennsylvania
  • Junichiro Kono
    Professor, Rice University
  • Todd Krauss
    Professor, University of Rochester
  • Christopher Murray
    Professor, University of Pennsylvania
  • Matteo Pasquali
    Professor, Rice University
  • Aaron Saunders
    Research Lead, nanoComposix
  • Lee Silverman
    Science Manager, DuPont
  • Ricardo Prada Silvy
    Vice President of Research and Process Development, SouthWest Nanotechnologies
  • Rahul Singhvi
    Chief Operating Officer, Takeda Vaccines
  • Srinivas Sridhar
    Professor, Northeastern University
  • Samuel Stavis
    Project Leader, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • R. Bruce Weisman
    Professor, Rice University
  • Lloyd Whitman
    Assistant Director, Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials, Executive Office of the President